Former Prosecutor. Powerful Defense Advocate. Certified in the Area of Criminal Law

California DUI Penalties

Understand the Possible Penalties of a DUI Conviction in California

If you are charged and convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol and/or drugs, you could face substantial criminal consequences. In addition to administrative driver's license suspension, you could receive probation, a jail or prison sentence, and expensive fines and fees.

At the Law Office of Gregory Hagopian, we provide aggressive representation for DUI charges. Our legal team is led by attorney Hagopian, who is a former prosecutor. As a former prosecutor, he understands how district attorneys and judges handle these cases. He will evaluate your case from every angle to determine the best course of action.

Contact a qualified lawyer today at (559) 377-6627 to defend you against overzealous DUI charges and make sure your side of the story is told.

First, Second & Other DUI California Penalties

Typically, a first offense is a misdemeanor, carrying a 90-day driver's license suspension and fines and fees totaling about $2,000. Additionally, you are required to attend a three-month DUI class to get your driver's license reinstated. A second offense requires a nine-month DUI class, and any subsequent charges require an 18-month DUI class to get your driver's license reinstated.

State law dictates that your fourth offense is a mandatory felony charge, which has stricter jail and prison sentencing guidelines. Once you are convicted of a felony crime, all other charges are mandatory felonies, even your first DUI charge.

Misdemeanor convictions typically carry less than 30 days of jail. You may be eligible for a work release program such as house arrest using an electronic monitor or a sheriff's department workforce. Felony convictions include incarceration for more than one year and collateral consequences that include losing your right to possess a firearm or having trouble getting a job, a loan, a mortgage or an apartment. Whether you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, you will be required by law to have an ignition interlock device put in your vehicle, at your own cost.

Aggravated DUI Charges in California

In California, specific circumstances can aggravate your DUI charge, which can create additional California DUI penalties.

The Law Office of Gregory Hagopian has experience providing defense representation in the following situations:

  • Blood alcohol content above .15. This includes a special allegation charge which adds more jail time.
  • Minors in the car. If you are charged with DUI and minors were in the car, you could receive 10 additional days of incarceration.
  • Drunk driving accidents. If you strike a person, you will be charged with a felony. If you crash into an object and cause damage, you will receive a special misdemeanor allegation charge.
  • Hit-and-run accidents. These accidents have a special classification based on if you hit a person (felony) or property (misdemeanor).
  • Killing a person. If your accident contributes to the death of another person, you could face manslaughter or gross vehicular manslaughter charges. These felony charges carry increased penalties.

Call Today for a Free Consultation

Individuals convicted of misdemeanor DUI charges are automatically placed on probation. If you are convicted of a felony, you may be placed on probation depending on the situation and often the discretion of the judge. Attorney Hagopian is dedicated to minimizing his clients' DUI California penalties and consequences.

To avoid the possible penalties of DUI conviction, call us today at (559) 377-6627 to arrange a free consultation.

Mr. Hagopian Knows What You Are Going Through, and He Is Committed to Getting You Through This Tough Time.

Request a Free Consultation Today.